Week 30: the book this week is What Got You Here Won’t Get You There

It’s been 30 weeks (since I started) and I am ready to pick up my 28th book of this year (yes I am running behind by 2 books) and it feels good. Sometimes it becomes too difficult to get time to read but then this commitment of “52 books 52 weeks” keeps me going.

So the book I am starting this week is “What Got You Here Won’t Get You There” by “Marshall Goldsmith“. Now I don’t remember exactly where I heard of this book but most probably someone recommended it online and I find the title interesting (the entire title is “What Got You Here Won’t Get You There How Successful People Become Even More Successful”) and I have vaguely heard about Marshall Goldsmith.

I am not a very big fan of books preaching success mantras or what to do in your life or how to lead your life (hopefully this is not one such book), nevertheless the success stories or how one person achieved success (or whatever is achieved) in his or her life.

I am a firm believer that no one can teach you how to be successful (or for that matter how to lead your life) and most of the so-called ‘Self-Help’ books are bogus and don’t really help. It is you yourself who can achieve the results you want by trial and error method (try to do it in one way and if it fails, try some other way and repeat until it succeeds and then follow that way in other dealings wherever it is applicable in your life).

Nevertheless the stories of individuals (and I mean real ones) are sometimes good and it in the least motivates you. It’s one in a million shot that the manner in which one person achieves Success in life that can be replicated ‘as-is’ in your own life. But yes it can provide a motivation and may be their methods can provide a starting point or guideline for your future achievements (customization required).

I am not too sure what to expect from this book but hopefully it will be a good read.

What are your views on Self-Help books? Success Mantras? Do let me know.

Till next time Happy Reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Articles, Books

One response to “Week 30: the book this week is What Got You Here Won’t Get You There

  1. Pingback: Review: What Got You Here Won’t Get You There | the book this week

Leave a Reply

